Texas native’s Peterbilt 389 honors late grandfather at 2024 SuperRigs

June 4, 2024
Shell Rotella’s 42nd SuperRigs gave drivers a chance to show up and show out on the Texas Motor Speedway.

FORT WORTH, Texas–In blazing sunshine and sheets of rain, the contestants of Shell Rotella’s 42nd SuperRigs truck beauty contest both showed up and showed out, all while surrounded by the towering stands of the Texas Motor Speedway. In particular, Kaleb Hammet, a Texas native, departed the show with an additional $10,000 in his pocket after his 2019 Peterbilt 389, nicknamed ‘Hoss,’ won Best in Show for 2024.

This year’s beauty contest is the fourth that Hammett has participated in, and not only did his red truck with gray accents win him Best of Show, but also the award for Best Lights. A working heavy-haul, four-axle truck for Hammet Excavation, ‘Hoss’ isn’t just a beautiful truck – it’s a familial memento for Hammett.

“The truck’s in memory of my grandpa,” Hammett said. The elder Hammet passed away in 2014 after a battle with lung cancer, and “the gray truck that was at SuperRigs back in 2018 and this truck were both built in memory of my grandpa, who started the company in 1963.”

Hammet also brought the second truck, a 2017 Peterbilt 389 called ‘Ya’ Savvy,’ which took home the prize for ‘Best Interior.’ Both trucks exhibit the patriarch’s favorite colors of red and gray, and the trucks’ names pay tribute to Hammett’s grandfather when said together.

“That was my grandpa’s saying,” Hammett explained. “Whenever he'd tell somebody something, he would always ask them ‘Ya’ savvy, hoss?’”

Read more: Texas couple's Doc Holliday-themed Peterbilt 379 to SuperRigs judges: 'I'm your huckleberry'

Beyond Hammett’s victory, JR Schleuger won Best of Show first runner-up with his 1984 Kenworth W900B, earning him $4,000, while Ernie Adams won Best of Show second runner-up with his 1982 Kenworth W900A, also known as ‘Miranda,’ earning him $2,000.

Additional show categories included the Classic Division, where Alex Schleuger took first place with his 2005 Kenworth W900L; the Working Truck – Limited Mileage Division, where Jaden Lindamood took home first place with his 2013 Peterbilt 389; and the Tractor Division, where Gary Jones took first place with his 2018 Peterbilt 389, ‘Triple Seven.’

But regardless of whether a truck earned a spot in Shell Rotella’s calendar or a trophy for its work, the real stars of the show were the drivers and owners themselves.

“[We’re] very excited about the enthusiasm from these truckers and to be able to celebrate them and their hard work for the weekend,” said Julie Wright, Shell Rotella brand manager. “[We want to] really recognize all that they put into this and all the pride that's coming through in their trucks and the upkeep.”

The category winners and a few other selectees will appear on the 2025 SuperRigs calendar.

To see the trucks up close, click the slideshow.

Complete 2024 Shell Rotella SuperRigs Results

Best of Show

Kaleb Hammett

Dodd City, Texas

2019 Peterbilt 389

Best of Show 1st Runner Up

JR Schleuger

Britt, Iowa

1984 Kenworth W900B

Best of Show 2nd Runner Up

Ernie Adams

New Florence, Pa.

1982 Kenworth W900A

Non-Working/Show Truck

Jeff Hoker

Dixon, Iowa

2023 Peterbilt 389

1st Place Classic Division

Alex Schleuger

Britt, Iowa

2005 Kenworth W900L

2nd Place Classic Division

Cody Lindamood

Farmersville, Texas

2000 Peterbilt 379

3rd Place Classic Division

Jay Holsomback

Sugar Valley, Ga.

1996 Kenworth W900L

1st Place Working Truck - Limited Mileage

Jaden Lindamood

Irving, Texas

2013 Peterbilt 389

2nd Place Working Truck - Limited Mileage

Jerry Cruz

Von Ormy, Texas

2005 Peterbilt 379X

3rd Place Working Truck - Limited Mileage

Andrew Worth

Winnipeg, N.D.

2024 Kenworth W900B

1st Place Tractor Division

Gary Jones

Lawson, Mo.

2018 Peterbilt 389

2nd Place Tractor Division

Kaleb Hammett

Dodd City, Texas

2017 Peterbilt 389

3rd Place Tractor Division

Mike Anderson

Checotah, Okla.

1999 Peterbilt 379

1st Place Tractor/Trailer Division

Tarik Al-Amin II

Crete, Ill.

2023 Kenworth W900L

2nd Place Tractor/Trailer Division

Clayton Heise

Thornton, Texas

2024 Peterbilt 389

3rd Place Tractor/Trailer Division

Kevin Benson

Maywood, Mo.

2023 Peterbilt 389

Best Engine

Jaden Lindamood

Irving, Texas

2013 Peterbilt 389

Best Chrome

Alex Schleuger

Britt, Iowa

2005 Kenworth W900L

Steve Sturgess Best Theme Award

Brandon McInnis

Montalba, Texas

1985 Mack Superliner RW613

Best Interior

Kaleb Hammett

Dodd City, Texas

2017 Peterbilt 389

Best Lights

Kaleb Hammett

Dodd City, Texas

2019 Peterbilt 389

People’s Choice

Jeff Hoker

Dixon, Iowa

2023 Peterbilt 389

About the Author

Alex Keenan

Alex Keenan is an Associate Editor for Fleet Maintenance magazine. She has written on a variety of topics for the past several years and recently joined the transportation industry, reviewing content covering technician challenges and breaking industry news. She holds a bachelor's degree in English from Colorado State University in Fort Collins, Colorado. 

Sponsored Recommendations

10 Steps Every Tech Should Follow Before Clearing Fault Codes

Are you tired of recurring fault codes? Clear them with confidence today! View the 10 steps that every technician should follow before attempting to clear faults.

Repair, Replace or Retire - Grab Your Calculator

Don't make the mistake of ignoring fleet maintenance. Learn how to be proactive instead of reactive and reduce up to 70% of breakdowns.

Mobil Delvac™ oils give race car haulers winning edge

See how Mobil Delvac™ oils boosted the Tony Stewart Racing Team

The Technician’s Guide for Mastering DPF Regens

Become a regen expert today! Equip yourself with the skills necessary to recognize when a forced regen is the correct procedure to maximize the lifespan of your filter and keep...